Logo of the Dutch government

Only Euro 6 and electric trucks allowed in environmental zones

This information is provided by

Netherlands Enterprise Agency, RVO

Effective date: 1 January 2022

What changes?

Do you work in transport? You will only be allowed to enter environmental zones (also called low emission zones) with emission class 6 (Euro 6) diesel trucks or electric trucks. The same applies to buses, if local authorities decide the environmental zone applies to buses as well. Emission class 4 and 5 diesel trucks are no langer allowed in environmental zones.

The municipalities in the Netherlands with environmental zones are:

  • Amsterdam
  • Arnhem
  • Breda
  • Delft
  • Den Haag
  • Eindhoven
  • Haarlem (from 1 January 2022)
  • Leiden
  • Maastricht
  • Rijswijk
  • Rotterdam
  • ’s-Hertogenbosch
  • Tilburg
  • Utrecht

For whom?

  • transport companies
  • bus and coach companies


This change will enter into force on 1 January 2022.

This article is related to:

This information is provided by

Netherlands Enterprise Agency, RVO
FAQPartnersContactAbout usDisclaimerPrivacy & CookiesAccessibilityOndernemersplein (Dutch) is an initiative of:Netherlands Chamber of Commerce, KVKNetherlands Enterprise Agency, RVOImmigration and Naturalisation Service, INDTax and Customs Administration, BelastingdienstGovernment.nlStatistics Netherlands, CBSNetherlands Vehicle Authority, RDWDigital Trust CenterEuropean Commission Point of Single is the Dutch Point of Single Contact for entrepreneurs.Accessibility level: W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.1