Economic alliances in Europe

This information is provided by

Europe consists of fifty recognised sovereign states, most of which are members of one or more legal or trade associations, cooperations or unions. The aim of these organisations is to make it easier for member states and their citizens to travel and trade with each other; for instance, customs checks are more lenient, or persons can travel and stay in each other's countries. The Netherlands is a member of the following bodies:

close all

The EU also has a monetary agreement with the states Monaco, Andorra, San Marino and Vatican City, meaning the Euro can be used as legal tender in those states.

You will find a list of all Schengen - EU - EEA member states on the Netherlands and You websiteExternal link.

Other alliances

The organisations mentioned above are the ones the Netherlands are part of. These are the European alliances the Netherlands does not participate in:

the European Free Trade Association, EFTAExternal link

the Nordic CouncilExternal link

the Visegrád Group External link

the Baltic Assembly External link

the Black Sea Economic Cooperation, BSECExternal link

the GUAM Organization for Democracy and Economic Development External link

the Central European Free Trade Agreement, CEFTAExternal link

the Common Travel AreaExternal link

the Union StateExternal link

This information is provided by